the beginning of “wannabe a chef”

OK. So, I was VERY inspired by the movie “Julie and Julia.” I wish I had thought of doing that. I am a “foodie” at heart. I began my food career about 9 yrs ago. Let me give a wee bit of background: My husband and I became care-takers for a millionaire on his ranch. In the beginning, just my husband worked on the ranch and earned a paycheck. I was content staying home and being the “happy homemaker.” I cooked my way through many cook books during the early years of our marriage.  (and consequently put on 120pounds, but that’s another blog) I became proficient at preserving the harvest. There came a year when the head “cook” for our boss had to retire. They were in a bind. They knew I enjoyed cooking and asked me if I’d give it a try….cooking for the seminars that are held a few times a year on the ranch. I agreed. My first “job” was cooking lunches and dinners for 30 people for 4 days in a row. I was responsible for hors d’oeuvres as well as entrees and desserts. Needless to say that first experience was a trial by fire to say the least. These were people from around the world, used to high end food and presentation. My boss taught me a lot that first year. Now, here we are 9 years later and I am now the manager of their cafe and their personal chef for all events. I have learned a lot. I am self taught and very determined. I can go toe to toe with most of the caterers here. I recently catered a banquette for the University of Idaho where we served 300 and I had a staff of 4. It was a huge success, and it means that next summer will be even busier. I have been introduced as “head chef” many times, and I have not gone to school to earn that title. It bugs me a little, especially when introduced to other chefs. I have toyed with the idea of enrolling in culinary arts programs, but the logistics just won’t work right now. We’d either have to move, or I would go away and come home on weekends, or commute at a local college. So, the same way I lost 120 pounds, I am going to “school” my way. I researched and purchased culinary school text books online and am going to work my way through them.  I lost the weight by sheer focus and determination, no special pills, programs or surgeries. Just hard work. This is going to be just like that. This will be a document of my journey  through my “schooling.” Come along and join me! Tomorrow I will update on my first week’s progress: beef broth, brown stock and brown sauce, as well as list the texts I am using. Until then, bon appetite! a la Julia!

have tools, will cook!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the beginning of “wannabe a chef”

  1. Jennifer Twitchell says:

    I love this! You inspire, I too am a foodie and decided a bit late that I should have gone to culinary school. I can’t wait to read more!!

  2. Janey says:

    I am so PROUD to see you on this journey. I CHEER for you and am inspired by you!!!! Bless you in this endeavor, you give me hope for my own little life, trials and dreams.

  3. kari fillo says:

    Wow …this is going to be the coolest thing ever, I cant wait to see what your gonna do next! Good luck!!

  4. wannebechef says:

    thanks you guys! What great support!

Leave a Reply

