Tonight was all about the sauce!


 

My husband thinks I should title this:

“Getting Saucy with Adrienne”

 

Bordelaise sauce over braised venison roast

TA DA!

That’s what I wanted to exclaim as my family sat down to dinner tonight. This evening’s meal was a culmination of days’ worth of broth making, stock making, sauce making, and “small sauce” making. My husband’s comment: “If I had more thumbs Honey…” The kids even had seconds of ‘The Sauce’, this was after my youngest, not five minutes before tasting it said: “Do I have to have ‘The Sauce’ Mama?” I said, yes, you absolutely must at least taste ‘The Sauce.’ She gingerly tasted it on her fork and her nine year old eyes got as big as saucers and she quickly hopped out of her chair to spoon some more of ‘The Sauce’ onto her venison.

sigh.

I am completely content at this moment. I served up a “high end” restaurant quality meal this evening, everyone enjoyed it, it was totally worth it. I will NEVER take a sauce for granted at a restaurant again. whew! (unless I am suspicious that they opened a package of this and added some of that and called it brown sauce,) hmph! I may just be a “sauce snob” now.

 

red wine and shallots and bay leaf

red wine reduction, by 2/3

after adding the espagnole sauce to red wine reduction, simmering 15 min.

straining the Bordelaise

With ‘The Sauce’ I served a braised venison roast as my “vehicle” for tasting the sauce, along with a barley risotto and steamed broccoli.

the beginning of prep for the barley rissotto

 

the mise en place for the barley; green onions, garlic, Romano and homemade chicken stock

And Finally, dinner is served:

Let's EAT!

I will not have much time tomorrow for cooking. My oldest daughter has finals. It is because we home school that I must drive her into town for her testing. Hopefully tonight’s meal will give her some brain food!

Bon appetite! Get some “sauce!!”

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in culinary skills at home, home cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

