veloute,

My daughter finished her testing earlier than expected, so I have time to cook this afternoon!

North Idaho Thursday sunset, 1-20-11

Today is a veloute sauce, basically a blond roux is used to thicken chicken stock, or in my case, turkey stock.

The first thing you start with is clarified butter. I know we’ve all heard the chef’s on Food Network talk about clarified butter, I think even Martha Stewart has it listed in her ingredients lists at times.

FYI**Clarified butter is more useful because after you’ve removed the fats, it has a much higher smoke point.

This is my second time actually taking the time to clarify butter. Here’s what I’ve learned:

The first time I did it, I used the cheap store brand butter. When you clarify butter you melt it, slowly and the butter fats should float to the top. You carefully skim off the fats and voila, you’ve now clarified your butter. Easy, yes? Not when you use store brand butter. The fats sunk to the bottom. How the heck do you skim them?? Answer: you don’t. I ended up using my fat separater-measuring-cup and pouring the fat from the bottom out that way. Note to self, try it again with premium butter.

Premium butter is what I used today. The stuff cost me just over $4 for a pound. Result: better. Most of the fat floated to the top and I could easily skim it. But, there still seemed to be some on the bottom as well. Again, I carefully poured it off. I do see that I bought salted butter, so maybe that will make the difference. That’s what I will try next. Every recipe calls for unsalted butter, I just think its bland

the butter fat floating to the top

skimmin the butter fats

If you look closely in the picture you can see some solids still on the bottom of the pan, like suspended “fat clouds”

finished clarified butter

So, there you have it.  Next time, I plan on using some of the Amish butter or even go to the natural foods store and see what I can find there. I will need to keep it on hand in the fridge on a regular basis anyway. I have no idea how the French stay so svelte with all that butter. My plan will be to be as “fat free” and smart all day until dinner and then enjoy the meal as it was written…

onto my veloute sauce,

Bon apetite!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in culinary skills at home, food, home cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

