Holy Cow! Dinner was better than expected tonight!

Holy Cow! Dinner was better than expected tonight! Ever had one of those nights when you open the cupboards and things are getting a bit bare? You know, when you’re getting down to the obscure cans of ingredients and the freezer isn’t much help? Well, that’s where I was. Tomorrow is the Big Shopping day, today is the day where I had to be really creative. Really. We’re talking: no milk, no soy milk, no almond milk, 2 TBSP butter left, no potatoes….you get the picture? We live about 20 miles from the nearest grocery store, so there will be no running to the store for this or that, its a well planned trip. Well, I chose a London broil of venison to defrost. No clue what I was going to do with it. See, I didn’t plan well, because by the time I thought about dinner, it was too late to defrost the bordelaise sauce that would have been perfect with it. So I decided to improvise and try a bit of creativity based in my self education…..

first I browned the London broil in clarified butter. This I had in the fridge (clarified butter) and everyone knows its one of Mama’s special ingredients and don’t touch…..They (the family) only had 2 TBSP of whole butter left for their personal use.

removed the meat, and sauteed MY version of mire poix, 1/2 of an onion, carrots and celery, all small dice, and, drum roll……….a granny smith apple (I had 2 left in the refrigerator drawer.) Once they were just-tinged with brown, I added a cup of white wine, let that reduce a bit, then added the meat back to the pan and lightly salted it with some apple wood smoked sea salt… (perfect!!–another of the cool “foodie” gifts Vern got in his birthday basket)  and covered it and let it simmer until done. When it was time to serve the kids asked me if the apples and such were for the meat, I answered casually, yes, if you want, but you don’t have to. I figured it would just infuse the meat. To my surprise they piled the “stuff” on top of their slices of venison. I followed suit. I took my first bite and HOLY COW! It was amazingly, surprisingly good!!!  I’m thinking this self directed cooking school at home is going to turn out just fine!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in culinary skills at home, food, home cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holy Cow! Dinner was better than expected tonight!

  1. Shawn says:

    Having had many of your meals thru the last 8 years, you have never ceased to impress my palette and those of our guest. Thank you, you are a wonderful no make that fantastic chef.

  2. wannebechef says:

    awe, thanks Shawn! That’s very kind!

  3. Tasha says:

    Good job! I hate it when I don’t plan and then wonder what I’m going to make. I’m not very good thinking on the spot.

  4. Janey says:

    Woo-hoo sounds super yummy!!

Leave a Reply

