Reality Check w/ fried poatoe sandwiches!

I hit the grocery store with my twice written out list. The list that was created to match my in-home cooking school lesson plan. There were some ingredients I couldn’t find. I only went to 2 stores, but I was spent with just those 2 stores. My legs were aching, which has nothing to do with an hour and half of yoga yesterday and a heavy leg workout today…..I have to combat this butter revolution some how!

The butcher at one of the stores is a relative, and his eyes got big when I asked if he happened, just by chance to maybe have some chicken bones that I could use for making stock….he just that morning de-boned some breasts for a lady and what a coincidence that I would ask for bones. Now, since he was so surprised that someone was actually asking just for bones I didn’t have the heart to tell him I actually needed 15lbs of them! So, he proudly pushed through those plastic doors carrying the wrapped chicken bones and I took my whole 28 cents of bones (1.5 pounds) and thanked him very much. So needless to say there will be a few changes to the lesson plan, a few items I will just have to simply “make do” with…. my plan called for me purchasing 6-8, 3lb roasting chickens..well, at nearly $9/bird. there’s no way I could do that, on top of the other meats and cuts I needed…so I got what I could and we’ll see how it goes. Now we all know why the tuition is so high for culinary arts schools!! I will definitely stick to the skill sets and report faithfully how it goes… Do you know how hard it is to find star anise in North Idaho? or lemon grass??? (I did find some lemon grass, but it was a pitiful 3 stalks that were 3″ long and browning on the ends…so needless to say, after a long day of workouts, schooling the kids, house cleaning and shopping we had pizza for dinner! Ha!

On another side note, have you ever had a fried potato sandwich?? I know it sounds ridiculous, but hear me out. My grandmother used to love to read southern historic romance novels. Well, in one of her novels, years and years ago the heroine made fried potato sandwiches. My grandma decided to try it out and ever since then we have had a fried potato sandwich at least once a year. My mom would make them for my dad’s lunch. She’d make them in the morning, wrap them in foil and then a couple of towels and by lunch time he’d be the envy of the logging crew when he pulled out his steaming, fragrant potato sandwich. I’ve made them for Vern when he was roofing. In the fall when it would be bitter cold up on the roof he’d unwrap his own lovin from his woman!

here it is: I make our bread, so these are with my homemade whole wheat bread.

slice some onion

thinly slice some potatoes, as if you were making potatoes au gratin.

melt either butter (I used clarified butter today, it was awesome!–MUCH higher smoke point than whole butter) or bacon fat into a saute pan, then add the onion. Let it “sweat” just until its translucent. Add your potatoes, about one layer deep, or according to how many sandwiches you are making. Cover, turn the heat down a bit and let it cook until the potatoes are soft and tender. Slather your bread slices with mayo, pile on the potatoes and onions, sprinkle with salt and pepper (I used apple smoked sea salt, wow!) and top with mayo’d bread. and voila! your very own historic romance novel fried potato sandwich!

if you try it, let me know what you think!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in culinary skills at home, food, home cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality Check w/ fried poatoe sandwiches!

  1. Janey says:

    Wow! That is a huge starch meal, great for a working man. But I do want to try it!

  2. wannebechef says:

    I know Janey, its crazy! but it is a treat once a year or so….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

