consomme nerves

I’m a bit nervous about the consomme. Yesterday I began my brown stock. I browned both beef bones as well as venison bones. Then I simmered them for 6 hrs with the mirepoix and sachet….it doesn’t look like last time. I checked it this morning and it was not gelatinous like last time. The fat is on the top, for me to skim off, but there’s no jello-type jiggle. hm. Wonder what I did differently. It may just be that I needed to let it simmer a few hours longer. The gelatin comes from the cartilage and brings the “body” to the stock. Well, its onward towards the consomme anyway. Right now, I have a half of an onion in a dry skillet browning—actually, I am looking for a char. That will be simmered w/ the stock today to add flavor and color. I also will be whipping some egg whites until frothy and adding ground beef to the stock, which together will act like a raft that will float on top of the broth and sieve out the particles. I don’t think its going to be clear like stained glass….but its fun trying! I have to say, I LOVE making stocks!! I’m hooked! I’ll post pictures of the process soon. Off to check the onion “brule.”

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in culinary skills at home, food, home cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

