If only you could smell through the screen!

Oh My Goodness! I am still savoring the taste of tonight’s dinner!!! It is by far my favorite meal so far since beginning this journey, but more on that later.

Sauteed chicken with onion, garlic basil sauce, and smoked sun dried tomato risotto

 

Its been a good day. I am acting as my son’s personal trainer, so we had our first official session in the garage. He was doing “burpees,” “mountain climbers,” squat jumps, and more, AND he spent time on the treadmill. That’s my boy! Tomorrow will be a strength training day. He’s working on his personal fitness merit badge for Boy Scouts, (of which I am a counselor) its one that is required to “Eagle.” Then later the girls and I took the horses for a walk, which actually turns into quite the adventure when their corral corridor to the “outside world” is a solid sheet of ice.

 

Then we had to deal with the buffalo, who really looked like she wanted to follow the horses right out the gate. Her horns look bigger to me……Once we got on firm footing and a couple of gates between us and the buffalo I could relax,  it was fun. We worked on some schooling while we were at it. By the time we came in it was time to begin dinner prep. Something of which I have learned, dinner needs to be started by 4:30pm if we are to eat at a decent hour, IF I am cooking one of my “lessons.” Tonight was sauteed chicken with onion and garlic and basil (AMAZING!!) and a risotto that was THE BEST I have EVER had!

the sauce from the "frond" of the pan, with minced onions, 6 cloves of garlic, basil, white wine and tomoatoes and broth

the sauteed chicken breasts in their sauce

the beginning of the risotto

*the beginning of the risotto, there is 1/2 cup of white wine to be stirred and absorbed.

the risotto in progress

*see its getting creamy…

FINISHED!

ahhh, if only you could SMELL it! let alone TASTE it!

no words necessary

 

Cream of Broccoli soup update: it was yummy! The veloute sauce took the place of cream for my, although for the rest of the family I added it and the cream, so theirs was richer than mine. It was a great, successful meal…I was supposed to put the puree through a china cap, but honestly couldn’t see the point.

Cream of Broccoli soup, a la cooking school

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, culinary skills at home, food, home cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

