Oh MY GOODNESS! I had NO idea what I was missing!!

Oh MY GOODNESS! I had NO idea what I was missing!! There is absolutely NO WAY this could be good coming out of a can! Who Knew SPLIT PEA SOUP could be GOOD tasting!!!! I have 3 walking proofs that its is a good soup recipe! ALL 3 kids LOVED it! (its GONE! the pan has been “rubber spatula-ed” clean into someone’s bowl!) So I wasn’t just a weird kid in the 80’s who thought split pea soup from a can in 90 degree weather was disgusting….tonight’s dinner was FANTASTIC!!

A few notes: I am all out of cheese cloth for a sachet, so I used a coffee filter, tied with kitchen twine….another note here: Couldn’t find kitchen twine, so I bought 100% cotton yarn and have been using that. Also, I was afraid of the texture of the split pea soup and almost didn’t put it through the food mill, but I decided to stay true to my skill set and lesson plan and trust The Book. It is SO good!!! I am glad I did! Also, I did not add and salt, nor did I think it needed thinning with hot chicken stock.

w/o Further ado, here’s the Adrienne’s Cooking School Recipe for Puree of Split Pea Soup, Yield: 4 qt

 

4oz diced bacon

1 lb. mirepoix, med. dice

4 chopped garlic cloves

3 qts of homemade chicken stock

1 lb. split peas, washed and sorted

1.5 lb. ham hocks

Sachet:  2 bay leaves, 1/2 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp crushed peppercorns

salt and pepper TT

Your Mise en Place:

Dice bacon

peel onions, carrots and celery and chop into med. dice

peel and chop garlic

wash and sort split peas

prepare herb sachet

 

In stock pot, render bacon by cooking it slowly and allowing it to release its fat; sweat the mirepoix and garlic in the fat w/o browning them. Add the stock, peas, ham hocks and sachet. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook until the peas are soft, approx. 1-1.5 hrs. Remove sachet and ham hocks. Pass the soup through a food mill and return to stock pot.  Remove the meat from the ham hocks, dice and add to soup. Adjust the consistency by adding hot chicken stock if necessary. Adjust seasonings and serve.

 

here is a chicken stock recipe that I use also known as a white stock. I will post the brown stock recipe tomorrow.

yield 2 gallon

15 lb of chicken bones, or adjust to what you have on hand

3 gallons COLD water ****This is one of the big secrets to a clear stock, start with cold water. Hot/warm water causes the fats to dissolve into the water and make it cloudy. If you bring it up to a slow simmer a sort of raft will form to help purify the stock

2 lb Mirepoix (1/2 diced onion, 1/4 carrot, 1/4 celery)

Sachet: bay leaves, 2

dried thyme, 1/2 tsp

crushed peppercorns, 1/2 tsp

8 parsley stems

 

Mise en Place:

cut up bones (into 3-4″ pieces)

peel and chop onions, carrots and celery for the mirepoix

prepare herb sachet

 

1. Place bones in a stock pot and cover with COLD water, bring to a boil and reduce to simmer.

2. add the mirepoix and sachet to the simmering stock.

3. continue simmering and skimming stock for 3-4 hrs—-unless you have tossed in some veal or beef bones too, then its 6-8 hrs

4. strain, cool and refrigerate. If any fat congeals, you can easily remove it. enjoy!

here’s my question: does anyone know what the difference is between split peas and lentils??

 

 

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh MY GOODNESS! I had NO idea what I was missing!!

  1. Tasha says:

    Thank you so much! I am going to be saving chicken bones from now on so that I can make my own stock and freeze it.

Leave a Reply

