Why do I feel its necessary to point out that this is my husband’s plate?

Tonight was to be simple. Yesterday I carved two chickens and ended up only using a little over one. My next challenge would be how to stretch the remaining chicken into a meal that would feed us all. I chose crepes with chicken and sauce mornay.

I started at 4:30, figuring that by 6pm we would be sitting down to dinner. So far I have been drastically wrong in this time table estimation. Tonight proved no different. I am only thankful that I began when I did. I poached the chicken.While that was going, I made the bechamel sauce which became the mornay sauce (just a white sauce that you add cheese to, in this case Swiss and Parmesan) After that, I made the crepes. THEN I assembled everything and baked it. It was so tasty! My kids were asking how many they were allowed to have! Go figure. My kids are LOVING French food.

onion piquette

an onion with a bay leaf skewered to it with 2 cloves. This is simmered in milk for 20 min, in preparation for the bechamel sauce.

stack of crepes

I have figured out my technique for crepes. If I butter my pan, they turn out wrinkled and too dark….like the first pancake you make. They say the first crepe is always a sacrifice to technique. I have learned I can flip the crepes in the pan with about 75% accuracy, meaning they land on the proper side and IN the pan.This only works if the pan was well buttered. Other wise, if I run a thin rubber spatula around the edge of the crepe I can easily lift it out and flip over….perfectly. I think I could do these for a seminar dinner/dessert/appetizer.chicken fillingI forgot to put the Parmesan into the mornay with the Swiss, so I added it to the chicken filling…very tasty.

the lactose free version for me, ready for the oven

dinner is served.

This is my husband’s plate. We also had steamed broccoli and cauliflower with smoked sea salt on the side.

Why do I feel its necessary to point out that this is my husband’s plate? Why do I care what you think of me and my eating habits? Why????? I am not sure. This is something that has been coming to a head in my life lately. You may or may not know that I have taken over 100lbs off of my body a few years ago. So now, with this new project I am in the midst of, food has been very central to my days, to my success on many levels now. Previously food was fuel. Food was the enemy, and the friend. I needed it to stay alive, yet I needed to find ways to control it so it wouldn’t control me. I logged my food everyday. I watched calories every day. I knew how much was going in and how much energy I needed to expend to come out either even or in the negative on the scale. Its been a few years and I have not been able to get rid of the last 20 pounds. My husband thinks its because this is where I am meant to be. I want so much to believe him. Media and culture counter him everyday. So, now food plays an even more complex role in my life. I love to cook, I am a chef for a living. It has to taste good. Good tasting food is success. At the same time, I am still on the quest to rid myself of the last 20lbs, that would also mean success to me. BUT I am afraid. This will probably percolate throughout my posts as I work through this. Food is so complicated in our lives. Why I had over 100lbs to lose in the first place, why I have an obsession with food now……these will come up in my posts I hope, and I hope that by the end I will have a healthy relationship with food and my body image. I hope you don’t mind me sprinkling it in these Cooking School posts.

me at my biggest, 278, 5 yrs ago

 

me current, in my work kitchen, after hours

 

This is why food is so complicated for me. This journey that I am on is very complex–well organized, logical and intricate. Trying to improve my professional skills as well as get a handle on my physical and emotional responses to food and the roll it has in my life. It shall be interesting, and I hope inspiring to someone out there. I will find a happy medium.  My next project on the horizon: to become a personal trainer……who cooks GOOD! Thanks for reading.

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in chicken, cooking, dieting, food, home cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why do I feel its necessary to point out that this is my husband’s plate?

  1. Janey Backer says:

    I am so grateful you are including your thoughts and processes on relating to food. I still have weight to lose and you are such an inspiration to me. I know I need to understand my mind/heart/soul as they relate to food to be able to successfully change. I can lose it physically but the rest of me isn’t there. So I look forward to learning from you! Thanks for sharing and being vulnerable – and you LOOK GREAT!

    • wannebechef says:

      Thanks Janey, your comments are very encouraging. I hope this will turn into a freeing journey. I struggle daily with food…..how much, feeling guilty, feeling envious of others who seem to eat what they want……fearing failure…..We will over come this!

  2. Connie says:

    You are getting very good at this blog. Keep it up! I truly enjoyed tonights posting. You are heading somewhere with this.

    • wannebechef says:

      Thanks Connie, I hope I can focus in on this and keep it cohesive too with skill building as well as digging into the emotions and finding freedom from my demons. Your support is HUGE. Thanks for being in my life!

Leave a Reply

