Muffin Tops!

Today is the menu/grocery list planing day. This is how it looks:

menu/culinary lesson plan/ grocery planning

you will notice the calendar is at hand, so that I can correspond the menu/ lesson plan with scout mtgs, 4-h mtgs, piano lessons etc. The large book in the center is my culinary text book, then I have the spiral notebook, 1 page for recipes and their location in the book, 1 page for grocery list….I will fine tune it later and make a final list, which will include the plan as well as when to prep things, like soak the beans the night before, make the French bread the day before etc. You may notice a skeleton picture near my coffee cup. My youngest was doing her science lesson while I made my lists. It could be just me getting very technical about nutrition and body composition and food as fuel, blah, blah, but its not. 🙂

Here’s what I did while making the lists:

I baked muffins! We are in dire need of snacks. I have no normal flour. This creates a challenge, doesn’t it? I used my text book, found a recipe for pumpkin muffins. I have LOT’S of pumpkin puree from our garden gourds last fall. I DO have: graham flour, a little bit of cake flour….let’s see what happens…

here is the recipe:

all purpose flour, 1 lb 4 oz ***remember I am using graham and cake flour.

baking soda 4 tsp

baking powder, 2 tsp

salt 2 tsp

nutmeg 2 tsp

all spice 2 tsp

cinnamon 2 tsp

cloves, ground 1 tsp

sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices together TWICE.

sifting

granulated sugar 2 lb 10 oz

oil, 8 fl. oz

8 fl oz oil and 2 lb 10 oz sugar

pumpkin puree, 2 lb

eggs, beaten, 8

orange juice 12 fl oz cream the sugar and oil together until fluffy. Add the pumpkin puree and eggs to the creamed mixture. Fold in the dry ingredients, being careful not to over mix. Stir in the orange juice.

scoop into well oiled muffin pans. Bake at 350F until brown and firm, approx. 20-25 min. yield 48

here’s my first results:

not cool. They TASTE ABSOLUTELY HEAVENLY. The sugar got a bit crispy in spots and the flavor is outstanding. I think I need more flour. All I have left to choose from is organic rice flour and spelt flour. So I add some, just by site, whatever looks good. Here’s the results:

with added flours

better. I’m going to “eye ball” a bit more spelt flour and see what happens:

VOILA!

MUCH better! Ha! It was a successful baking day after all, even with the crazy mix of flours I had! Yahoo!

perspective

see? I can go so many places with this now….you get out what you put in…….if you keep trying and keep tweaking you’ll eventually have success……who needs all purpose white flour anyway? Its not good for your body. Now, my next challenge…not to gorge myself on these beauties! BUT they have whole flour in them, so not so bad, if you close your eyes to the 2 lbs 10 oz of sugar! So, my muffin tops changed depending on what I put into the batter…hmmmm…sound familiar? OUR muffin tops will change too, depending on what we put into our bodies. Woe…..that’s nearly a revelation! Just kidding. But it is true.

These actually do taste amazing, and would be fantastic at a bake sale/fundraiser. I guess someday I’m going to have to try them with the actual flour called for.

Right now, I have fried chicken on the stove top, ala cooking school recipe, WITH my spelt flour! smells good.

Let me know if you try it with the all purpose flour and what your results are.

Now you may think twice about your muffin top!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, culinary skills at home, dieting, food, home cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Muffin Tops!

  1. Rebekah says:

    i like it i love it i want some more of it;)

    Rebekah Nelson:)

  2. Babygirl says:

    With using graham and cake flour, these muffins really came out looking delicious and so yummy. I may have to try this at home. Great post.

  3. Idaho mom says:

    They were yummy too. Inspired me to pick up some of those same flours again this weekend and give some new recipes a go! I will have to be careful though or my muffin top will expand even further! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

