You can’t coat yourself with barbecue sauce and think it will make a difference in how you are perceived.

my very first grilled portabellos

Mushroom: to become greater in extent, volume or amount.

These are all things which I WILL not become if I were to eat grilled portabello mushroom burgers. Why? Because I don’t like them, that’s why. Not to mention I am sure you wouldn’t grow big (over weight) from eating them because they are so good for you, healthy, full of vitamins, minerals, blah, blah, blah. Whatever. This girl will not be repeating tonight’s dinner, Grilled Portabello Mushroom Burgers. My oldest daughter is now sitting pretty knowing that even her Mama doesn’t like them. She’d been dreading tonight’s meal since she found out about it yesterday. On the flip side, my husband is in LOVE with them, which is good because there are 6 mushroom burgers to be eaten and not wasted in this economy…guess what he’s having for lunch tomorrow? focaccia, portabello, roasted red pepper, fresh basil and cheddar

So what didn’t I like about them? Just about everything. First of all I am a mushroom novice, bad experiences as a child and the memories that accompany them have kept me from venturing into the fungi world too much as an adult. This is not to say that I haven’t broadened my horizons a little bit over the years. I can eat them on pizzas, in omelettes, in Boef Burguoinion   etc, but never as a full out main ingredient. I don’t like the texture. I don’t like the taste. I may have been better off to take the gills off with the stems, but the text book did not say that. The gills turned into a black slime. Not my kind of burger.

I do have to say I am proud of my daughter. She kept an open mind and she really did try it, with more than one bite. It just took me about 4 to realize I couldn’t choke the rest down. Oh, I tried. I tried to not expect anything, keep an open palette. nah. I couldn’t fool myself.

I did however LOVE the focaccia bread.

finished dough ready to ferment

I was concerned that it was so wet, but decided to trust the process.

here it is, "doubled in size"

ready for the oven

I made two, figured, “why not?”

beautiful golden brown

wonderful "crumb"

Hubby's lunch for tomorrow

So what did I learn from this? Hm. Well, new experiences will not always be pleasant, but that doesn’t make them unworthy of my best attempts at success.  Beauty, in this case flavor is all in the eye or mouth of the beholder. Same with people, with culture. My husband and I were having a discussion about body image. Mine to be exact. I struggle, as you all know with accepting my soft, squishy tummy. He adores it. He’s been telling me for nearly 19 years that he loves my body no matter the shape or size, (even when I weighed 278) the sentence that has resonated around in my brain for nearly 2 weeks now is this: “Honey, its not like guys are looking for a perfect size 6, 20 something. Actually, we’re looking at a woman and thinking to ourselves, ‘She’ll do.’ ” Now before you all get in an uproar at this insensitive man, he wasn’t meaning it that way at all. To put it another way, a man on a Christian radio talk show about body image interfering with marital intimacy, said this,

“Women are crazy! The last thing that 99.9% of men are thinking about or looking at when you’re naked are your “mental hang-ups.”

Believe me, our mind is solely focused on the parts that we don’t have.

Nothing is more frustrating than being punished for something you cannot control; what your wife “thinks” she looks like.”

How on earth did I get here from grilled portabello mushrooms? Well, first, don’t be afraid to try something new, even if you may not be successful.  Workouts. Belly Dancing? Kick boxing. Walking in a half marathon. New recipes. I will continue to experiment and try new things, regardless of how many “failures” I have. Really I have not  failed if I have learned something. This time around it was that I probably should have removed the gills of the mushroom, but this has many applications.  The proper research and prep work are important. Whether you are looking at a new recipe, or looking at starting a new workout, or changing your relationship with food. Its important to keep an open mind. I can always count on my man to lift me up, to support me.

The homemade barbecue sauce was pretty tasty. I was hoping it would disguise the mushroom flavor….nope. So, when you buy that top a size bigger than you need….you are not disguising anything, in fact you are actually drawing more attention to something you were actually hoping to hide. You can’t coat yourself with barbecue sauce and think it will make a difference in how you are perceived. A little stretch in logic, I know, but I hope you can see it. No matter how much BBQ sauce I put on that blasted mushroom, it still tasted like a mushroom.

You are worthy of your best. Your best attempts at new things. Your best try to be healthy and strong. Your best efforts to build a healthy body. Your best endeavors to sweat! Your best efforts at loving yourself.

Food is not my failure. Food is not my boss. Food will not control me.  I will manipulate it, craft with it, cook with it, learn from it, use it and eat it, but it will not make me feel like a failure because I over indulged or do not like it. so there.

I did a killer leg workout in my garage today….feeling a bit wobbly now. I followed this workout with a 45 min walk:

bench step up using the weight bench, 3 sets 20 reps each

squats, with 82 lb barbell,  3 sets, 20 reps each

static lunges with 20 lb dumbells,  3 sets/20 reps ea

stiff legged dead lifts with 82 lbs, 3 sets/20 reps

one leg squats, 20 reps each leg, 3 sets

I bet I am feeling HUNGRY tomorrow. I always seem to after lifting weights. Now the key question is how will I handle that without letting food rule my day? This is when my vow to eat when I am hungry and stop when I am full will be a challenge. I will want to graze all day, then guilt will be knocking on my inner door. I will let you know how it goes.

I have a challenge for you all. Try one new recipe outside of your comfort zone. Look into a new-to-you exercise class or workout DVD or routine. Try it at least once.

No

more

mushrooms.

🙂

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in bread, comfort food, cooking, culinary skills at home, dieting, food, grilled mushrooms, improving body image, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You can’t coat yourself with barbecue sauce and think it will make a difference in how you are perceived.

  1. Rebekah says:

    that one was one of the ones that was not to good BUT! the bread was good;)

    Rebekah Nelson:)

  2. Tasha says:

    betcha I would have loved it right along with your husband 🙂 Not sure what I’ll be trying new this coming week, but I’ll take you up on the challenge.

  3. Janey Backer says:

    oh dear, I LOVE mushrooms. But I have never grilled portobellos so I don’t know about the gills. Interesting comparison, good to think on that!

Leave a Reply

