Commit to color!

Spring is nearly here! The count down is ON! My son and I went on our second training run this morning. We chose a route that took us uphill, but that meant it was downhill all the way home. There are still piles of snow here and there, but amidst the cold piles and the prunings from the fruit trees in the orchard there are these snow drops bravely, defiantly showing their petals.We are so anxious to see some color! The azure blue of the sky just lightens everyone’s moods. So, in celebration of the arrival of spring and color, look at the vegetable risotto we had last night.Yes, it tasted as good as it looks. It had red and green bell peppers, parsley, onion, tons of garlic and asparagus to tantalize your taste buds for spring!

My husband had it for lunch today too, and there’s still some left over.

*recipe to follow post*

To go along with the vegetable risotto, we had Roman Chicken:Granted the chicken isn’t that colorful to look at, but the flavor sure livened up my mouth! I “chunked”  up the chicken, instead of leaving it in pretty supremes. I used a whole chicken, not the 4 breasts the recipe called for. Also I skinned it, which again was not how the recipe was written. What makes it “Roman” is the anchovies and white wine vinegar in the sauce.

To be honest I had never tried an anchovy straight from the tin. I did last night, and I liked it! These were wrapped around a tiny caper. Yummy. Tart. Salty. Perfect for the light sauce.

As I expected, I’ve been hungry all day today. Again. But I know its because my metabolism is firing up with the  half marathon training and strength training. The hard part today was working in the cafe. I have started to get some prep done for the upcoming season, getting some soups and baked goods in the freezers. The problem is, the others who work there have the place STOCKED with crap; sugar, white flour junk. Today there were green donuts, cupcakes, cookies…ugh. All out on the counter, just tempting me. BUT here’s the cool thing. My personal commitment to be the best me that God created  me to be helped me to stay focused and not O.D. on the fake food. Yahoo! How is your personal commitment coming along? Has it helped you stay focused?

 

How are you going to celebrate spring? Will you be more colorful? In your wardrobe? In your daily routines? On your plates? In your kitchen? How about how you speak? To your loved ones? To yourself?  How about you find something colorful that makes you smile and put it out where you see it everyday in honor of your personal commitment to be the best you that you were created to be? I think I will buy some flowers, maybe some primroses that can be planted outside in another month or so after they’ve shared their blooms with me in the house. Or you could wear something colorful to accent your new found strength!

Vegetable risotto:

olive oil, 5 fl. oz

garlic, chopped, 1 oz

onions, med. dice, 8 oz

arborio rice, 1 lb

vegetable stock, hot 3 pt

bay leaves 2

red bell peppers, med. dice, 1 lb

green bell pepper, med. dice, 1 lb

asparagus, cut into 1″ pieces

parsley, chopped 2 tbsp

salt and pepper TT

heat 5 fl. oz of the oil in large saucepan. Add the garlic and onions and sweat for 1 minute. Add the rice and stir to combine with the oil. Cook over low heat for 20 min.

add 1 pint of the stock, bay leaves. (I added some oregano too) Stir and cook the rice until liquid is absorbed. Add the remaining stock and stir and cook until the rice is creamy.

Saute the bell peppers and asparagus in 2 tbs oil until tender. Add bell peppers, asparagus and parsley to the rice and stir to combine. Adjust the seasonings with salt and pepper.

serves 12, 8 oz each.

Roman Chicken
Saute the chicken in olive oil, skin side down, season with salt and pepper. Cook until chicken begins to brown, then cook for an additional 2 minutes.

Add 8 fl. oz of chicken broth and reduce by 2/3, approx. 5 min.

combine 4 garlic cloves (chopped) with 3 anchovy fillets chopped fine and1 fl oz of white wine vinegar and add to cooking liquid. Remove chicken from the heat, and serve with sauce poured over.

enjoy!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in chicken, comfort food, cooking, culinary skills at home, dieting, food, home cooking, improving body image, marathon training, recipes, risotto and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

