Thoughtful Falafel

Community.

Falafel.

Womens’ Hearts.

Inner Strength.

Love.

Respect.

Neighborly.

Bean Balls.

Homemade pita pockets.

Endurance.

Positive self-image.

Confidence.

Belonging.

You matter.

YOU.

These are all seemingly unrelated words. Nouns, adverbs and adjectives. All of them rattle around in my head when I am thinking about writing. I so much want to encourage you. I have 20 subscribers. (I find this completely amazing!) I want you to all know, deep down in your innermost being that you are worthy. You are worthy of being a member of community. You are not meant to sit along the wall, be an outsider at the PTA mtg, or a loner. You are meant to be a contributing member of community. Everyone, including you, has something the community needs in order to function at its best. What is community?

com·mu·ni·ty

1. 

a social group of any size whose members reside in a specific locality, share government, and often have a common cultural and historical heritage.
Can you define your community? What is your role in it? Is this small group we have here a community? My community: is here in North Idaho, in a small town, it’s here in my neighborhood, in my little church, in my family. What is my role? I believe I am an encourager. I believe I have accomplished things, fought battles, experienced my life so that I may encourage others. I have been there and most likely done that. I  have fallen prey to social media, shaky upbringing and over come some amazing things. I am here to tell you that you are worthy. Just like I was/am worthy.
Falafel. How on earth is this related? I don’t know, but it was such a blast to make and experience and taste! It was a brand new experience. I stepped out of my comfort zone and I am so glad I did. You learn the most when you step out.  I did not like my first cooking school vegetarian meal, grilled Portobello  burgers. blah. So this second attempt was in faith. I soaked the chickpeas beans overnight, cooked them for 3 hours in the morning. I made the pita pocket dough in the morning and took it to the cafe with me to rise while I worked on soups and such. While the soup was simmering my daughter and I rolled and baked the pockets.

half of the pita pockets we made

about 2/3 of them came out perfect, the rest were good slathered with maranatha peanut butter and homemade plum jam!

While I was on the phone with my best girlfriend I finished the Falafel. I pureed the beans, added some spice and seasonings, a couple of eggs and flour and came up with this:Using the cookie scoop you see, I plopped little balls of this bean puree into hot oil, and came out with these:

bean balls!

this is what dinner looked like:

3-4 bean balls in the homemade pita pockets with some shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes and some mayo...YUM!

This was definitely a home run! We LOVED it!!! I think the balls would be a great appetizer some time this summer at one of the events I have scheduled to cater.
Recipe at the end of post.
Women’s hearts.
They are so delicate, yet at the very same time they can be so strong. When I think of women’s hearts, I am referring to their souls, their sense of self.  I think most of women’s hearts are in the gutter. I think they feel very low.  We wear our hearts on our sleeves. Words are so powerful that they affect us down in our hearts. Our own words. Sometimes these are echoes of a childhood, sometimes they are in our subconscious through media, magazines etc.,  sometimes they come from others in our “community”–high school bully, work place jealousies and insecurities.  I am fighting to combat this sense of failure we share. It is almost always related to our physical appearance. Are we good enough? Do we measure up? Are we acceptable? You are loved.  You need to know that God knows exactly where you are and how you got there and where you will be. He knows your struggles. He will give you the strength you need to overcome this World and love yourself. He was with me when I quit my job for a year. He was there when I prayed and agonized over the decision to cut ties with my mom. He gave me strength to walk 13.1 miles. When it was hard I would say over and over, as if a mantra, “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” and I would make it up that hill. (Sometimes I did the “2-step” to make it up that blasted hill) He placed everything in my life that year. I found Him, and I lost the old me. I know I am worthy. He loves me. He loves you. That year was the biggest self-growth year I ever had.
When is your year coming? Your year of losing you and finding Him and therefore finding value in yourself?
I found myself being hard on myself this week. Yes, it was a bit of PMS and the culture was intruding too easily. Then I had a day with a friend yesterday and everything changed. Things were on an upswing. I had been here at the ranch for days, not out and about much. When I did get out, it was to the gym, where there were women like me, but I kept finding myself the biggest one in the class, or if I wasn’t in the gym, I was home, where the TV spewed Victoria secret ads and Nutrisystem commercials. Then I got to spend a day shopping with my friend and I saw real women. I got to see that I am “average.” I remember when I first was told I was “average” by my trainer after she had done my height and weight and body fat….you would have thought I had won the lottery. I was AVERAGE! I didn’t think I would ever be average again. There are women of all shapes and sizes who are average. Then there are some who are not, they are either below or above and we all have self-love issues. My perspective was put back on track with one day of shopping!

Do me a favor. Go back to the beginning and re-read those words in the list. Do you see how they are related?

 

Falafel:

1 lb chickpeas

6 garlic cloves

1/2 oz chopped parsley

1/2 oz minced chives

1 TBSP ground cumin

2 tsp ground coriander

cayenne pepper TT

3 eggs

salt TT

5 oz. flour

to make the falafel, soak the chickpeas overnight, drain and cover with cold water. simmer until tender, 2-3 hours, drain well.

process until coarsely chopped, add garlic, parsley, chives, cumin, coriander and cayenne and process for a few seconds.

add the eggs, salt and flour, process briefly, remove from processor and chill for one hour. portion into balls and deep fry balls until crisp and hot. Drain well and hold in warm place..

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in bread, cooking, dieting, falafel, food, home cooking, improving body image, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughtful Falafel

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    Recipe Chefs

Leave a Reply

