Day 1, 51 more to go, LOVE your tree!

Well? How’s the foundation inspection going?? How’s your wall? What did you do today to firm it up??

Me: I ate a cookie! 🙂 and I don’t feel bad! and I didn’t get in my upper body strength training session because work and 4-h got in the way, but that’s okay. I am not obsessing, I AM planning my time a little better for tomorrow. I DID get my time in with the Lord this morning. I have been nice to my reflection. I am trying to elevate the women I come across.

My girls and I watched a great documentary last night and we all three (9 yr old, 14.5 yr old and me) highly recommend it. Its called America the Beautiful.It deals with exactly the things we are working on. Women’s self-image and self-worth and what the advertisers have done to us. I took notes:

Advertisers market unattainable beauty to most people, because money backs it. duh.

Question to ask: Who benefits from selling us the image of beauty?

What do advertisers do: Create a problem, then sell the solution. Gray hair? wrinkles? over weight?

The United States has 5% of the world’s population, yet 40% of the world’s advertising is here. That’s incredible! This almost goes w/o saying: we have the most self-esteem issues in teenagers.

A famous photographer, Mark Baptiste was interviewed. 100% of the magazine photos are retouched. Re-touched to perfection. My question: who decided what perfect was?

AD lady from US Weekly: We make money by corrupting more and more people to be interested in this stuff.

In 3 minutes of looking at a fashion mag. 70% of women ALL AGES feel guilty, depressed and shameful.

The average American woman: 5’4″ 140lbs, the average American model: 5’11” 115 lbs. WHAT????

40% of 9-11 year olds are on a diet. Really.

There are 884 toxic ingredients in makeup. Trade secrets do not have to be listed on the label of cosmetics. Fragrance is the TOP offender, from dish soap to perfume.

Phthalates: illegal in European products, used here. FDA has only banned 6 ingredients in cosmetics, European union: 450 ingredients. Wonder why our cancer levels are so high???

Fire retardant is being found in breast milk in the USA.

My favorite story:

The lady who wrote the Vagina Monologues was interviewed. She told a story about visiting with women in Nairobi. She asked one lady if she liked her body. Nairobi lady says: “My body?? YES! I LOVE my body! Look at my hands, they are strong! and look at my fingernails and the tiny little crescents, look at my strong arms, they can take me where ever,  and my tummy, this is meant to be seen, it’s where the babies are, and my legs, Oh look at my legs, they are strong and can hold my man!” Then the play write interrupted her, she got the point. But, Mrs. Nairobi says, “why?? do you not like your body??” Play write: “well, no, you see, I have this little pouch here, and this spot here and….” Mrs. Nairobi: “Do you see the tree on this side?” Do you like this tree? What about the tree on that side? Do you like that tree? It is different from the other tree, yet you still like it. I LOVE my tree! You need to LOVE your tree too!”

So LOVE your tree!!!

 

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in dieting, improving body image, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1, 51 more to go, LOVE your tree!

  1. Rebekah says:

    alwais love you tree!; )

    Rebekah Nelson: )

Leave a Reply

