Cafe event food, day 2 of wall building

This is day 2.

50 more to go to have a firm wall built between me and what society, media, popular culture say I should look like. 50 days left to build women’s hearts and change the strangle hold advertisers have on their sense of worth. 50 days to believe deep down in my soul that I am enough.

Today was a great day in the cafe. We had an inventor’s group meeting, which is always inspiring. I had the honor to prepare their snacks as well as attend the meeting and help facilitate it. Where do people come up with their ideas?? I am just astounded. An Einstein I will never be, but a Julia I hope to be, 🙂

Back to building my wall. What did I do today? I ran nearly 3 miles in 30 minutes for one! (I think it was actually 2.75 miles) That is a huge increase in my stride, but I also learned a lesson: Do not have a big cup of coffee before you head out for a run! It was HARD and I felt awful for a while, at least until the last 3/4 miles.  Even though its hard, I always feel so much better. I know its good for me, its good for my body. I feel like I actually USE my body. You know? I think that is key. Doing all the things God intended your body to do. It fulfills your soul a bit.

I also complimented a co-worker. She has completely inspired me to take some time when I dress. Especially on days like today when I am representing my boss to the public and representing the museum. My co-worker is much younger than me, not enough to be my kid, but my MUCH younger sister, 🙂 She’s always cute and stylish and coordinated and accessorized. She is not bowing to society’s pressures, she is her own self and I admire that. I told her so today. I hope I helped to build her up. I hope I helped block a bit more of the world’s influence on her well being.

Also, this morning in my bible study, I studied in Zechariah, and this verse is now above my kitchen sink:

Zec 4:6 Then he said to me, “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbable saying, “Not by might, nor by power, but by My spirit” says the Lord of hosts.”

Zerubbabel was in charge of rebuilding the temple, another monumental task, like Nehemiah’s wall building. Zeubbabel may be the one organizing and overseeing the physical labor, but God was behind all of it. The same with our walls, our foundations, our temples.

How about you? What have you done on your wall-work?

Back to the cafe:

here is the “brain food” I came up with for today’s meeting:

Kalamata and Asiago Crostini

These made the kitchen smell like the Olive Garden Restaurant! I used canned diced tomatoes, with a lot of minced garlic, chopped kalamata olives and asiago cheese. Mix all together and spread on french bread slices and put under the broiler to toast and melt. YUM!

Chevre Tarts

Chevre Tarts

These were a snap, with high quality ingredients. Puff pastry, cut 2.5″ in greased mini-muffin pan. Place a tsp. of pesto in the bottom of each pastry, a dollop of Montrachet style goat cheese (Usually found in the specialty food islands by the deli), topped with canned diced tomatoes and shredded Parmesan. Bake until puffed and golden. A lady who works with the schools and sponsors science fairs LOVED these.

crudite platter with dilly dip

the not so classic genoise and homemade Angel food cake

These came out of the freezer pretty good. In fact consensus is that the freezing and thawing helped the moisture content of the Angel Food Cake. The recipes are in a previous post:

https://wannebechef.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/victoria-has-no-secret-on-this-angel/

a mismatch of extras

There was also a crab dip and crackers not pictured.

The snack table.

Something that just burns my buns that I just heard on the TV (the kids are watching; America’s Funniest Home Videos) commercial tag line:

“Be proud of the skin you’re in.” in reference to an anti-stretch mark cream, supposed to make them fade away. So, what? If I have stretch marks (what woman doesn’t?) I am not to be proud of my skin?? I should be ashamed. GRRR! I am on to you advertisers!

Parting thought: Are you the imperfect specimen the advertising industry says you are?

Love ya!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, cooking school, culinary skills at home, dieting, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

