My education continues in cooking, in priorities

Priorities. How do we set their values? I feel like I am treading water in a raging creek nearly over flowing with the spring run off. My priorities seem out of whack right now. Balance is elusive. I am not liking this at all. The hidden bonus: I am too busy to obsess over the scale. I just stepped on it this morning and nothing has changed. The lesson is, even when I am not obsessing and working out like crazy, I am able to maintain. This is a good thing to take note of.

My priorities are shifting, possibly for the entirety of the next season. Spring is busy. I have been getting my hours in the cafe (to help off-set the cost of the summer camps we have planned) here is a sample of what I’ve been up to:

Whole Wheat Spinach and Feta Calzones:

spinach, feta, mozarella, cottage cheese, sauteed garlic and onions and seasonings

pasta sauce

you really don’t need a recipe for the filling, you can use whatever amounts you like.

Cooking school calzone recipe:

The crust: 1 pt of warm water

2 TBSP sugar

1/2 oz dry yeast

8 oz whole wheat flour

1 lb bread flour

2 fl oz olive oil

2 tsp salt

In a mixing bowl, combine the water and sugar and then add the yeast, flours. Knead for about 10 min. Place dough in an oiled bowl, cover with a towel and proof until doubled in volume.

while the crust dough is proofing, mix your filling. Once the dough has doubled, punch it down and divide into 12 equal pieces. Roll each piece into an 8″ circle. Spread some tomato sauce on the circle of dough, top with a scoop or two of filling, fold dough over and seal with egg wash. Brush the pocket with egg wash. Place on cornmeal dusted pan and Bake at 425F for 10-12 min, or until brown

Things I learned: I can proof the dough in the fridge over night and work with it the next day while it is cold and it will still rise and do “its thang.” I did not bake these until brown, as I am going to freeze them and re-heat them in a month or two. I also tripled the recipe. I made these for the days that I cook dinner for a boat cruise on the lake. They are good “finger food” yet rustically elegant. I make a version of these for my hubby’s elk hunting camps in the fall. I freeze them and pack them in his cooler frozen and then he’ll take one out in the morning and put it on the wood stove, heat it through, wrap in a towel and pack it in his pack and then sometime during the day, he’ll find a nice spot under a tree or rock over hang and unwrap a warm, tasty pizza pocket from home. This way I know he won’t forget me, 🙂

Other things trying to clamber for top priority in my life: training for this half marathon. I am trying to cram 16 weeks of training into 10. This means I have skipped weeks that were supposed to be “rest and restoration to muscles.” Last Sunday I ran 6 miles, the longest so far. Then Wednesday of this week, I went for 2 miles, UPHILL. ugh. Then, knowing how busy the upcoming weekend was, I decided to do my long run Friday evening….a drum roll would be VERY appropriate here: EIGHT miles! I did it, so that it wouldn’t be hanging over my head all weekend, and I had yesterday and today to recover. (really it hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be)

Also, I cannot believe I did this: I agreed to coach my older kids’ soccer team. None of the other parents would step up, so here we are.

Add to this: teaching cake 4-H and having Horse 4-H meetings and getting my son to and from Boy Scout meetings. I feel like my life is WAY too full. I did it to myself. Now, I have to find out the best ways to prioritize and see what God may have planned that I am blind to at the moment for being unable to see past the calendar full of appointments and meetings and practices.  I know that God is in this. I just have to be open. I know these are pale (I have learned to write in pencil on the calendar) but if you look close, you can see how busy we are.

I usually focus on the calm after the storm, in this case that would be June 4th, once soccer season is over. I have come to realize if I do this, I will miss the moment. I will turn my attention on just “getting through” and I will miss some great opportunities with my kids, with the world around me while on the soccer field, while in a 4-h meeting etc. What a great opportunity I have to help influence some young people’s minds about “fitting in at all costs” I have the ability to help make some young people feel good about themselves right now, not after they master this skill or get to this size. I can help some of these young adults begin to build the foundation of their wall of protection from the culture’s influence on their well being, self acceptance. Speaking of which, how is Your wall coming?? Are you getting any closer to seeing yourself as God made you, and not how the media says you are to be?? I think I am. I wonder if that is why my life is busy? Is that God saying, “Look beyond the mirror, look beyond the scale, look around you, you are In this world, I need you to influence others.” Notice I said in, not OF this world. There is a difference.

Here is what some of things keeping me busy look like:

This is my youngest giving her 4-H demonstration speech on horse treats.

my oldest delivering her “illustrated talk” for 4-H, on A Day in the Life of a Civil War Horse.

Tomorrow we have our first soccer practice, and a 4-H meeting to follow. I think it will be a crock pot night!

Here’s my how my Sunday’s have been spent *(including today)

red bowl: whole wheat bread, white bowl, multi-grain sour dough bread, silver: an experimental loaf of spelt and whole wheat flours with garlic and basil and oregano

:

progress in rising

first rise is complete, now onto the second, in the pans

successful rising

doesn't look like much, but the spelt italian garlic bread tastes wonderful. It will go nicley with our spaghetti and meatballs tonight. (if there is any left!)

the beautiful whole wheat loaf

the amazing multi grain sour dough loaf!!! yes, I took this outside, the lighting was nice....

So, in summary, priorities. What are mine:

God and faith: consciously looking for God’s purpose in my every day activities. Spending time in His word each day to keep me grounded.

family: this means being soccer coach, being a 4-h leader, a taxi driver, working part time to help ease my husband’s burden, being a teacher, making sure they have bread for the week…..

me: keeping my eyes on the goal, finishing a half marathon, finding the necessary time for the training.

How are your priorities?? Is it time to shuffle things around? Are you on that list??

Have a good week Friends.

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in bread, comfort food, cooking, cooking school, dieting, food, home cooking, marathon training, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My education continues in cooking, in priorities

  1. Pingback: My education continues in cooking, in priorities (via wannebechef) « Gem's Blog

Leave a Reply

