No more “back burner!”

Where the heck do I start??? Its been crazy busy around here lately. I just got back from a 4-h leaders horse camp over the weekend.

Sassy and I in the English clinic

I have been super busy in the cafe this past week, which has led to me being put on the “back burner” so to speak. I am tired of being there. Its no fun, being back there, on the burner where you put things to simmer, slowly, because they don’t need your attention. You don’t expect much from your back burner pots, no surprises there, just slowly bubble or hold warm until you have time to mess with it. Yep, that’s been me. I put myself there. I have gotten in a couple of bike rides here and there during that busy week, but that was it. Also, the busyness leads to bad eating, bad fueling, which is ironic, considering those are the times you need the best fuel possible. So, I have decided to no longer reside on the back burner. I will be on the front burner, where I get attention first, because I need it, because I will boil over if I don’t get some tending, some stirring, some seasoning! My seasoning of choice: Good, wholesome fuel, and I will SIT down to enjoy the meal, no matter if I am in the cafe or home. I will “stir” my front burner pot with good doses of bike rides and weight lifting. This shall produce a happy, front burner pot!

Instead of drowning this post in ALL that I’ve been doing in the cafe, I’ll just post one meal at a time:

winter white salad, a la cooking school

trim the stem and root end of one fennel bulb, cut in half vertically. Wash and dry the bulb. Place cut side down and slice thinly. Place fennel in a bowl and squeeze the juice from one lemon over it. Add one leek, white part only, sliced into rings, 8 oz of radishes, sliced thin, and 2 oz thinly sliced red onion Add orange vinaigrette:

4 fl oz OJ, 1 fl oz cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp salt, pepper TT, 1/4 tsp dry mustard, 2 fl oz canola oil, 1 tbsp green onion sliced thin.

Combine all ingredients in blender except the oil and green onion, blend. Slowly add oil while blender is running to emulsify. Add the green onion and toss on salad.

garnish the salad with orange segments (I forgot)

beet and corn salad with goat cheese

Dressing: fresh lime juice, 2 fl oz

sugar: 2 tsp

salt and pepper, TT

olive oil, 4 fl oz

Beets, 1 lb

salt TT

6 cups corn

1 green onion, minced

1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves

4 oz crumbled goat cheese

black pepper, TT

whisk dressing ingredients together, slowly whisk oil in to emulsify. Boil beets in salted water until tender. Drain, cool, peel and dice and reserve. Mix together beets, corn, green onion, cilantro and cheese. Toss with dressing and adjust seasonings.

sole with mousseline of shrimp

Mousseline:

Raw shrimp meat: 12 oz

egg white, 1

heavy cream, 6 oz

salt and pepper TT

puree shrimp meat in food processor. Add the egg white and pulse to incorporate. Slowly add 2 oz of cream while pulsing the processor. Season with salt and pepper.

12 sole fillets

whole butter, as needed

shallot, chopped, 2 oz

parsley stems chopped, 6

white wine 6 oz

white stock, 6 oz

spread each fillet with the mousseline, then roll up starting with the thickest ends and ending with the tail. Butter a large sauce pan, sprinkle with parsley and shallots. Add the sole, then the stock and wine. Bring the liquid o a boil and cover. Poach until nearly done.

Remove sole and reserve in a warm place. I differed from the recipe by making a  blond roux and thickening the sole liquid into a sauce. pour over fish and serve.

I also served  amazing thyme and swiss cheese potatoes, of which I just took pics of the ingredients and forgot the final dish.

makes 36 servings:

onions, sliced thin, 2 lb

olive oil, 2 oz

garlic cloves 20

dried thyme, 2 tbsp

heavy cream, 3 qts

potatoes, 10 lbs

veg. spray, as needed

salt and pepper, TT

swiss cheese, 1 lb

saute the onions in oil until soft

simmer the garlic in the cream for 15 min.

peel and thinly slice the potatoes.

spray hotel pan with veg. spray. layer the potato and onions in the pan, seasoning each layer with salt and pepper. Pour hot cream over the potatoes and onions. Bake for 12 min, uncovered in 350F oven, then approx another 20 min at 300F, until potatoes are nearly tender. Sprinkle the grated cheese over and return to oven just long enough to melt the cheese.

My husband just finished some left overs of these potatoes and exclaimed after every bite. They were yummy. The seminar guests concurred with his evaluation. I did not try them, too much lactose in that pan!

I hope you guys are not on the back burner this week!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, cooking school, culinary skills at home, food, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No more “back burner!”

  1. Rebekah says:

    you shuld not feal like that :(……………..

    love you douter Rebekah ; )

  2. Janey says:

    Good job!
    I missed you but I wasn’t worried. I knew you would be back and I knew you would be persevering!

Leave a Reply

