Huckleberry Salmon

Just a quick moment to write,

Today has been a good day! I have been back “on track” for the past 2 mornings, up, dressed and out the door either on my bike or in tennis shoes….the HARDEST part is just getting out the door. The coffee is seductively calling, the TV and news of the morning is clamoring for my attention, the sweet comfort of memory foam is cloyingly distracting…..but I have persevered and with heavy feet, I have got out the door and I feel SO much better! I have “control” again. When I don’t have that time, to sweat, to use the fuel I am giving my body I start feeling out of control, I get depressed, short tempered.

After work I took my youngest to piano lessons about 8 miles from home. Usually I walk or jog during her lesson, which led to an amazing discovery. Last week, while walking on the road and thinking that the road was WAY too busy for my comfort, I came across what I thought to be huckleberries, only they weren’t ripe. Well, I checked on them today, exactly one week later and we hit the jack pot!!! The very first berries of the season! Now we’re itching to hunt for more tomorrow.

This all leads me to a huckleberry recipe:

Huckleberry Dijon Salmon

roast your salmon fillet in the oven or you can grill it, seasoned with salt and pepper.

just before its done, put a thin layer of Dijon mixed with melted butter on the fillet and top with a huckleberry sauce:

huckleberry sauce:

2 cups fresh huckleberries, 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar, 1/4 cup sugar, some finely diced white onion (2Tbsp) let simmer to make a sauce…..

this is a simple, yet elegant entree.

enjoy!

happy berry season!

Adrienne

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, home cooking, improving body image, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

