Perfect Sunday Afternoon

Its a perfect Sunday afternoon, almost.

The day began with a trip to the barn to feed the hungry herd of cows. Then, I brushed the hay from my sweater and hair, poured the pot of coffee into the insulated carafe and my youngest daughter and  I headed to The Little Church in the Wildwood.  It was just the two of us because Hubby is still up in the mountains hunting elk, and my oldest daughter stayed home with my son since he just had ACL reconstruction surgery Friday.  Our little church is just that; a little one room ,country, church with no running water and an outhouse, and a wood stove, hence the carafe of coffee that I bring every Sunday.

The weather was crispy but beautiful. The birch trees are still losing their bright yellow leaves, which we could watch  fall outside the church windows. When the service ended, we headed home, had lunch and I tidied up the house for son’s visitors this afternoon. Now, as I write and we await their arrival, its raining bucket loads. We are snug in the house, the stereo is playing Luis Armstrong, the wood stove is keeping us warm and my mind is wandering. The days are growing drastically shorter, and life is slowing down a bit. I am thoroughly enjoying the peace that is only interrupted by the occasional thwap of the fly-swatter and the victoriuos yell that follows from the Great Fly Hunter. I don’t know why, but the flies have been especially abundant this fall. There are about 3 stragglers left in our warm cozy home and their luck is about to run out if my youngest daughter has anything to say about it.

My mind is wandering to the upcoming meals and gatherings that always accompany the change in the seasons. I always have these visions of wonderful, intimate dinners with friends, where we sit around the table and enjoy food and conversation. In reality, its actually a fairly rare occasion when we actually do have dinner guests, due to all the competing schedules involved. I envision candle light, great music in the background, amazing appetizers and entrees, maybe some fun card games……there is always a warm golden glow in my visions. Maybe this year I will be able to make some of my visions come to life.

What do you do with the kids? We do not have the room to accommodate a “kids” table, nor is our dining table able seat that many. The kids would range in age from 10-15 yrs, and maybe even 3-15. In the past we adults have sat in the living room while the kids got the table, but that does not fit my vision at all. I will have to ponder this.

I am pondering a different turkey preparation this Thanksgiving. In it, you braise the turkey pieces, instead of roasting a whole bird. Usually I brine the bird for 16 hours before roasting, but this year may be time for something different. By cutting the bird into pieces you great reduce the cooking time and on that particular Thursday in November, short oven time is a bonus. Also, braising some brussels sprouts will be on the menu.

I will be pondering the Big Meal, as well as some dinner party menus and let you know what I come up with. I am also hoping to get back on track and hopefully down one size by Christmas. 2 months should be sufficient. I have some gift certificates for manicures, pedicures etc that I think I will use as rewards for myself. For simple things, like going a whole week and tracking my food again, see, small goals that have nothing to do with how many pounds I lose, but instead it will be the kind of goals that change habits. There are plenty of websites that offer free food tracking, I like sparkpeople.com as well as myfitnesspal.com, there are lots more, do some surfing, find something that works for you and challenge yourself to one week of it. Lets see how we do…..while we ponder the upcoming holidays.

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, fly swatters, food, little church in the wildwood, thanksgiving dinner, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

