My quest to use winter squash continues

A lot of us are trying to do the New Year, New You thing, although very few of us would probably admit that in public. I have been making an effort to clean up our family menu this month. The month we just came through was full of sugar, butter, rich foods and excess. I think we are all feeling the effects. So, in trying to be resolute about a few things in life, tightening the budget, eating better etc, I am on a quest to use as many nutrient dense, home grown foods as possible. (2 birds, 1 stone, yada, yada) I hope I can inspire you to do the same. Squash is inexpensive right now, and they are so versatile. I challenge you to try to include it your menu once a week. 

To continue in the celebration of my love for winter squash, here is another use:

Roasted Winter Vegetable and Kale Soup

Peel, seed and dice 1 butternut squash

dice 1 onion

dice 3 carrots

slice the top off one head of garlic

brush a rimmed baking sheet with olive oil, toss in veggies listed above, sprinkle with a bit more olive oil, salt and pepper.

Roast in a 400′ oven until browned and tender.

once the veggies are roasted, remove from oven. Spoon the vegetables into a large saucepan. Add 2 cans diced tomatoes. I used my home canned italian tomatoes:

add 4 cups of vegetable broth to saucepan with tomatoes and roasted vegetables. Once it heats a bit, ladle out some liquid into your rimmed baking sheet that you roasted the vegetables on. Heat it a bit if necessary, and scrape all the tasty browned bits off and into your saucepan of veggies, toms and broth.

add to the saucepan, 3 cans of beans….I used kidney beans that I had cooked earlier this week, but any will do: black, navy etc. I tossed in some left over home grown frozen corn as well.

remove ribs from a bunch of kale and chop approximately 4 cups of kale into bite sized pieces, and add to the soup. Add a splash of red wine vinegar and let simmer until the kale is wilted and soft and voila! Now you have a healthy, nutrient packed, flavorful soup to help you recover from the month of sweets and butter and rich foods you just went through. This soup is so full of good for you things, tastes and textures, once you add a slice of crusty bread for mopping up the bowl, you have a satisfying winter meal. This soup passed the taste test of my 10yr old, all the way to the father of the house. Good stuff!

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, recipes, squash and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My quest to use winter squash continues

  1. Jennifer says:

    This sounds great! I usually use a hand blender on my squash soup, do you think that would work if I did it before I add the other ingredients? Also, do you think Collards would work instead of Kale? I received some frozen collards in my winter frozen csa and I have been looking for a way to use them. What do you think? I’m looking forward to trying this!

    • wannebechef says:

      Jennifer, you could absolutely use your hand blender on the soup, there’s lots of room to play. You could puree the squash, onions,carrots, and garlic after roasting and adding the vegetable stock, you can leave the tomatoes in chunks or puree them, the beans too. Yes, any of the sturdy winter greens would be good in the soup. The key to a lot of flavor is the roasting of the veggies, it brings out a sweetness….play with it, you really can’t go wrong. I can’t wait for you to try it too! I hope you enjoy it! let me know….
      Adrienne

Leave a Reply

