Time.

Time.

We all get the same amount of time, per any given day. 

Doesn’t seem like it, does it?

Time.

How much do we have? Only HE knows, in HIS ultimate plan for our good.

So what do we do with the time we have today? God willing; tomorrow? How about for the next hour?

For some, time is already claimed. Work. Deadlines. Schedules. Appointments. Could be claimed by the unknown, the unplanned, the unforeseeable. Accidents on the route home. Drop in, unexpected visitors. Illness. 

This is something I am wrestling. My time. First off, its not MY time, is it? I am a Wife, Mama, teacher, cook etc. All I know is when that “Free” time comes along, I am nearly paralyzed. Guilt begins to rule my mood. The Man is out working 10 hour days, I feel like I am letting him down if I am not busy. He has never alluded to this, it comes from within. Anyway. Time. My struggle is with the priorities that clamor for front of the line. I also have to have a proper perspective on what I can expect to achieve, change, happen in time. For example, no one is going to notice if I work out 4 weeks, but in 12 weeks–people will notice. Patience. Time. They are so much better when they work together, side by side.

Have to’s:

Bible study and time in prayer.

cardio—-walking, jogging, hill running. 45-60 min/day

weightlifting. 40 min/day

feeding the horses

schooling Little One

cooking….family meals, school lunch prep for the kids, healthy snack items

Want to’s:

cook book writing

hiking, bike riding, horse back riding

sewing projects

painting projects

As I ponder these things and how to best arrange my days, let me share something that I experienced. The day time sssslllooooowwwwed way down; 

yesterday.

 

The power went out during an amazing storm, gale force winds, rain, snow, sleet, hale, that lasted for hours. It flickered for the last time around 7:45am, as I was finishing my study.

Image

this was near the end, when I actually thought to take a picture outside….

When the power is out and the lights are natural, time just seems to pause.

Image

Little One snuggled up in a chair by the window to do her school work. So nice not to be in front of a computer screen clicking away…Image

There are no windows in the kitchen (bizarre I know) but just look at the beauty of a simple jelly jar and tea light candle…something I would not have been blessed with had the power stayed on and time just whizzed by as normal.Image

I figured I’d try to keep the coffee warming for The Man, since he was out working in the crazy weather, after pouring most into an insulated carafe, I put a jar of coffee over a candle to heat it. I think it warmed up in 10 minutes. (Yes those are tuna cans holding my jar above the candle) The simplicity of this act made me so happy! No buttons and beeps and bangs with opening the microwave, setting the jar on the glass tray, pushing beeps, listening to a fan whir, then the loud, obnoxious beeps to let you know its done. Quiet. Peaceful. Simple. Jar over candle. ahhh. Do you feel it? Time slowed down, HE slowed it so we could cherish this moment. Life is best when its not complicated by our efforts to make it easy.Image

Maybe I am trying to hurry time along, bring some Spring in before it arrives outside, but the daffodils were so pretty in the natural light. They are 5 inches taller today than in this picture! Amazing what HE can do with a little time!

Image

Little One and I found time to make some of these while the power was out. They are for the kid’s lunches, little rainbows in a bag with some gold at the bottom. St. Patrick’s Day. Admit: I found the idea while spending time on pinterest.Image

You are the treasure at the end of my rainbow.

Time.

Time Saver. Is there such a thing?

Maybe, depends on how you look at it. Crock Pots. My secret weapon in finding more time.

Lentil and rice crock pot

http://www.thenakedkitchen.com/slow-cooker-lentils-and-rice/

Image

this got approval from the Tribe. I did add some left over Mexican flavored ground beef from our burrito night. Give it a try, let me know what you think. Super filling.

until next Time.

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

