Home Made Honey Graham Crackers, Never go back to store bought!

I was nearly finished with the bi-weekly marathon grocery shopping. My shopping cart was getting more difficult to maneuver around sharp corners. It took lightning quick reflexes, a steady hand, strong quads, and a lot of core strength to move that full, heavy cart out of the path of those people who drive their carts one way (directly at me) while cranking their necks in the complete opposite direction. I have no idea why WM was so busy that particular Wednesday afternoon. I was nearing my uppermost limits of tight smiles and thinning patience. I was nearing the check out lines, the end was in sight. I was okay with settling into a line to wait and just stand still for a bit. As I ran through my mental list I realized I had all the items for s’mores except the graham crackers. Dang it! GRRR. Okay, time to put on the thick skin, the thin smile with a glint in my eye that was designed to make people just move out of my way, head back down the center aisle, looking for the cookie and cracker aisle. Once I got there, I didn’t even make it down the too-narrow-lane of parallel boxes and bags; it was so clogged of people who seemed to be in a fluorescent induced stupor. I took one look at that congested aisle and thought….ahem, probably said out loud: “Screw it! I’ll make my own!” Whipped that albatross of a cart back towards the light at the end of my people clogged, cart clogged  shopping experience and headed back to check out.

I have been striving to clean up our family’s eating as much as possible. The thought of buying “food” that has traveled many conveyor belts, landed in a plastic bag, then encased and glued into a card board box, made my decision easier with the graham crackers.  

We have a fire pit outside that we’ve been gathering around the past three Saturdays. What a great way to bond, to share the week’s stories and events, as well as spend time with the Tribe and their friends.

Image

Oldest with her best bud DJ, at the fire pit…

Image

Making Survival bracelets around the fire.

But nothing, NOTHING, beats home made graham crackers in the s’mores:

Image

ImageImage

ImageImage

We will probably never BUY graham crackers again. Yes, they were that good. Crispy, yet not dry, moist, sweet, they passed the Tribe’s taste buds, and The Man was tempted into making a genuine s’more, as opposed to just toasting his marshmallow and eating it sans chocolate….

recipe:

3-1/2 cups whole wheat PASTRY flour.

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup butter (softened)

1/2 cup sugar (**next time I will try all honey, I think I’ll have to increase the flour 1/2 cup at a time until it reached a good consistency)

1/3 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup almond milk **you can use whatever milk you have

sift together the dry ingredients. Beat the butter with brown sugar, honey, vanilla and milk until smooth and fluffy. 

add the the wet and dry ingredients together and mix well. 

Image

divide the dough into 4 sections

Image

roll out a section as thin as you want your crackers, then square it up by trimming it with a ruler, OR use a cookie cutter (hearts for V-day, eggs for Easter, trees etc)

I cut mine into rectangular sections, like the traditional crackers, then poked a fork into the crackers where the break lines would be. (see pictures above)

I lightly spritzed mine with water then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar (yes I know, NOT clean) The water was to help the sugar stick….

Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes, or until the edges are very lightly browned. The crackers will harden more as they cool.

I tried a few times to get a picture of the whole s’more, but alas, the fire light got the best of me. Take my word for it, they were perfect.

Yes, I know that sugar is not considered clean in anyway, hence why I will try it with only honey next time, at least its not processed, out of the factory and conveyor belt land…..BUT it felt so cool to give the Tribe something I know the complete ingredient list.

Give them a whirl. Let me know of your personal adjustments, lets see how better to improve the humble graham cracker. How to Clean it up. the variations……

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

