gnocchi love

Here we go. 2012 is nearly done. How was it? Did you learn anything? It was a busy year, for most of us I’m sure. What do you want to do different in the next year? What do you want to do more of? Less? The same? Anything work out just right?? 

 

I made Gnocchi again a few nights ago. There is NOTHING like home made, from scratch gnocchi. recipe:

 https://wannebechef.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/food-post-gnoc…cooking-school/ ‎

The family was all gone, which is a rarity that I stay home and hubby does the appointments and errands. He ended up driving 5 kids to town (3 ours) and I had the house to myself for a few hours. I sweetened the deal by promising to make a good dinner if I had the time and wasn’t rushed after picking up son from a 4pm physical therapy appointment. Hence gnocchi. 

 

I put some 80’s Love songs on the stereo, because I was feeling the love!! and wanted to share it, put it into my food for my family. So I got my groove on while I riced the potatoes with the ricer I picked up at the antique store last year. I love stuff with a history, a life before I met it…I wonder how many times a housewife pulled it out to work up potatoes for her family? Did they live on a farm? In a town house in the city? I have a strong pull inside me towards things with foundation, with a past, with roots. Probably because I don’t have much in the way of a root system of my own. 

 

While working the ricer and listening to the love coming out of the speakers, I realized ow good I felt. How I didn’t mind interrupting my crochet session to prepare this meal. I was ready to be selfless for the ones I love. The memories of the first time I made gnocchi came flooding back. Hubby and I had rented a small cabin for a couple of nights over New Years. I wanted it to be so special, I spent the day preparing an Italian feast, downloaded Italiano restaurant music, collected the candles, cards and cribbage board.

The evening was perfect. No phones, no TV, just candles, good food, soft music and each other’s company…I can still see it in my mind’s eye. Image

The amazing thing was it truly became a comfort food for me that night, and now when I make it, the same contentedness comes along. So, there really is such a thing as comfort food, for me. I often wonder about things like that. Its a way for me to communicate to those I love. Food. Love. (I even still make my high-schoolers’ lunches, so they know I love and think about them. Yes, I know they are completely capable of packing their own, but I enjoy it..lecture me late about parenting)

 

What’s your comfort food? What memories come back when you prepare it?

 

Since the new year begins tomorrow, I am giving some thought on focus. There is a trend of choosing yourself a word for the year and then living that word with intention through the year…I am pondering a word. You??

 

Till next year,

Adrienne

About wannebechef

I am a mom of 3 home schooled kids, wife of 19 years, head chef/manager of cafe and a personal chef and event planner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

